American Academy of Emergency Medicine


AAEM Announces the 2012 Election Results for the AAEM Board of Directors


February 17, 2012

Contact: Kay Whalen (kwhalen@aaem.org)
Executive Director, AAEM
Janet Wilson (jwilson@aaem.org)
Associate Executive Director, AAEM
Phone: 800-884-2236

MILWAUKEE – The American Academy of Emergency Medicine (AAEM) announces the election results for the AAEM board of directors.

The American Academy of Emergency Medicine (AAEM) announces that William T. Durkin, Jr., MD MBA, was elected to serve a two-year term as president, Mark Reiter, MD MBA, was elected to serve as vice president, and Kevin Rodgers, MD, was elected to serve a two-year term as the secretary/treasurer of the AAEM board of directors. John B. Christensen, MD; David W. Lawhorn, MD; and David D. Vega, MD, were elected to two-year terms as at-large board members, and Michael Pulia, MD, was elected to serve as the Young Physicians Section (YPS) director. The YPS director position is a one-year term.

Dr. Durkin is president of his own corporation which provides consulting and clinical services to emergency departments. Dr. Reiter is an attending physician and core faculty at St. Luke's Hospital, a community teaching hospital in Bethlehem, PA. Dr. Rodgers is the Co-Program Director of the Emergency Medicine Residency Program (Categorical and Combined Emergency Medicine-Pediatrics) and a Professor of Clinical Emergency Medicine at Indiana University in Indianapolis, IN. Dr. Christensen is an emergency physician at Dignity Health in Santa Cruz, CA. Dr. Lawhorn is a Staff Physician, Business Director at Sumner Regional Medical Center Emergency Department, Gallatin, TN, and serves in a Clinical Faculty Position for the Department of Emergency Medicine at Vanderbilt University Medical Center. Dr. Vega is Vice Chair and Associate Program Director at York Hospital in York, PA. Dr. Pulia is an Assistant Professor of Emergency Medicine at Loyola University Medical Center in Maywood, IL.

In addition, Joanne Williams, MD, was appointed to the board to complete the remaining one-year term of Dr. Rodgers’ at-large board member position. Dr. Williams works at LAC/USC Medical Center in Los Angeles, CA, in addition to providing clinical practice at Bellflower Medical Center in Bellflower, CA, and Suburban Hospital in Paramount, CA. She also provides clinical services as a Noctensivist at Long Beach Memorial Medical Center in Long Beach, CA. Dr. Williams serves as Associate Clinical Professor, Emergency Medicine, at Keck School of Medicine, University of Southern California, and Associate Professor, Clinical Series, at Charles Drew University of Medicine & Science. Dr. Williams’ term will expire in 2013.

The AAEM board of directors also includes:

Immediate Past President
Howard Blumstein, MD – 2014

Past Presidents Council Representative
Robert M. McNamara, MD – 2014

At-Large Board Members:
Michael L. Epter, DO – 2013
Robert E. Suter, DO MHA – 2013
Andy Walker, MD – 2013
Leslie Zun, MD MBA – 2013

AAEM/RSA President
Teresa Ross, MD

Editor, JEM – Ex-Officio Board Member
Stephen R. Hayden, MD