American Academy of Emergency Medicine


ABEM Certification and the Single Accreditation System

Under the Single Accreditation System (SAS), American Osteopathic Association (AOA)–approved EM residency programs have five years, until January 1, 2017 to apply to the Accreditation Council for Graduate Medical Education (ACGME) to become ACGME-accredited. The ACGME will continue to approve programs until June 30, 2020. The SAS is creating a single residency accreditation system in the U.S. When an AOA-approved EM residency program receives full accreditation from the ACGME, residents who successfully complete their training on or after the effective initial accreditation date will be eligible for initial certification by ABEM. As many as 1,600 residents in osteopathic EM residency programs could be absorbed into the ACGME system as their residency programs become ACGME accredited.

Transitioning from a Four-year Residency Program to a Three-year Residency Program
Some osteopathic EM residency programs that have received ACGME accreditation are transitioning from four-year programs to three-year programs. There are two basic principles for meeting ABEM eligibility criteria for residents who are training in these programs at the time of the transition: (1) a resident must successfully complete at least four years in the same program, a combination of AOA-approved training and ACGME-accredited training; or (2) a resident must successfully complete at least 24 months under the new ACGME-accredited, three-year format. The ABEM Policy on Emergency Medicine Residency Training Requirements provides additional details.

If you have any questions, please do not hesitate to contact ABEM at training@abem.org or 517-332-4800 ext. 388.

Register for the Qualifying Examination
Make sure to register for the Qualifying Examination by November 3, 2016, to avoid a late registration fee. After you register with ABEM you will receive information to schedule an appointment with Pearson VUE to take the exam. Examination dates are November 14-19, 2016.