American Academy of Emergency Medicine


Council of EMS Fellowship Directors Formed

At its January 2011 annual meeting, the National Association of EMS Physicians created the Council of EMS Fellowship Directors as an ad hoc committee. The chair is Dr. David Cone (Yale University); vice-chairs are Dr. Francis Mencl (Summa Health Systems) and Dr. Karl Sporer (UC-San Francisco). Now that EMS is an ABMS-recognized medical subspecialty, ACGME is beginning the process of creating fellowship program requirements, and is expected to begin accrediting EMS fellowship programs in a few years. All EMS fellowship directors are encouraged to join the Council. Contact Dr. Cone at david.cone@yale.edu for additional information.