American Academy of Emergency Medicine


Dr. David Lawhorn adapted the national emblem of AAEM to the unique identity of the Tennessee Chapter.

  • The colors on either side of the Minute Man were changed to black and gold or recognize the Vanderbilt University School of Medicine, home of Tennessee's first emergency medicine residency.
  • The three starts at the Minute Man's feet represent the three Grand Divisions of Tennessee, just as they do on the state flag.
  • The three stars contained in the base of the emblem represent the three founders of TNAAEM and its first three presidents: Kevin Beier, David Lawhorn, and Andy Walker.
  • The field of orange inside the base along with the words "Tennessee Chapter" in white, recognize the University of Tennessee College of Medicine and its emergency medicine residencies in Chattanooga, Murfreesboro, and Memphis.
  • Finally, "2005" is the year of TNAAEM's founding.